NAHB Now Accepting Applications for Multifamily Pillars of the Industry Awards Competition

The National Association of Home Builders (NAHB) opened its general call for entries for the Multifamily Pillars of the Industry Awards competition. Multifamily owners and developers, builders, property managers, architects, interior designers and multifamily industry professionals are invited to enter the competition.

The awards highlight excellence in apartment and condominium design and development, interior merchandising and superior property management and marketing. Since its inception in 1990, the Pillars Awards program has earned its reputation as the most prestigious awards program of its kind.

“The Pillars Awards program is a great way to honor those in the industry who use innovative approaches to design and décor and who have the consumer in mind when building their communities,” said Steven Lawson, president of The Lawson Companies in Virginia Beach, Va., and chairman of NAHB’s Multifamily Council. “We expect to receive a wide variety of multifamily communities entered in the competition, and it’s always fascinating to see how the market varies across the country.”

All applications must be submitted online by Aug. 24, 2018. For more information, or to access the application platform, please visit Complete details, including eligibility requirements, categories and deadlines, can also be found there. Both NAHB members and non-members are eligible to enter. Finalists will be announced Nov. 2, 2018, and an awards luncheon will take place on Feb. 19, 2018, during the NAHB International Builders’ Show in Las Vegas.

For more information, call NAHB’s Multifamily Council at 800-368-5242 x8207 or email at [email protected].

For more information on the NAHB Multifamily program, please visit NAHB Multifamily:

Original Source

Real Estate Insights: Appraiser Trends

In recent years, NAR has heard concerns regarding a perceived shortage in appraisers, long turnaround times for appraisals, higher and/or rush fees in certain areas, and difficulty in bringing new appraisers into the profession. Earlier this year, NAR released the Appraiser Trends Study. Ken Fears talks with us about the survey’s findings in this episode. 

Original Source

Appraisal Exemption in Disaster Areas

Federal agencies announced they have eased Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery, and Enforcement Act of 1989 (FIRREA) appraisal requirements for areas of Florida, Georgia, Puerto Rico, Texas, and the U.S. Virgin Islands that have been declared major disaster areas by President Trump due to Hurricanes Harvey, Irma, and Maria.

Original Source

NAR Comments on Commercial Appraisals

NAR sent a comment letter to Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, and the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System (collectively the Federal Banking Agencies) supporting a proposed increase to the appraisal threshold for commercial real estate Federally Related Transactions from $250,000 to $400,000.

Original Source